top of page

Changes to Ontario's Workplace First Aid Enforcement

The Workplace Health & Safety Board (WSIB) sets the laws and regulations that affect the workplace. One of those regulations concerns first aid training and first aid equipment

This is a link to Regulation 1101 which sets out the standards

Why does this matter?

Generally, Ministry of Labour Inspectors only looked at compliance when a worker was critically injured and they are inspecting the workplace for violations.

Apparently, this is changing. We have been told that the MOL Inspectors have been given jurisdiction over inspecting and ensuring:

  • First Aid kits are stocked and inspected as per regulation 1101.

  • Is first aid training current?

  • Are the first aid certificates displayed near the first aid station?

  • Is the trained person working in the vicinity of the first aid equipment?

  • Are the mandatory posters visible?

Offence, regulations

156 (1) A person who contravenes or fails to comply with a regulation made under this Act is guilty of an offence.


158 (1) A person who is convicted of an offence is liable to the following penalty:

1. If the person is an individual, he or she is liable to a fine not exceeding $25,000 or to imprisonment not exceeding six months or to both.

2. If the person is not an individual, the person is liable to a fine not exceeding $500,000. 1997, c. 16, Sched. A, s. 158 (1); 2015, c. 34, Sched. 3, s. 5.

As you can see the penalties can be steep. Both employees and management need to work together to ensure that the workplace is safe.

Make sure that your workplace is compliant. If not give us a call, we can help with training and equipment.

257 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 comentario

Info Healthforce
Info Healthforce
09 mar 2022

Greetings, excellent blog and thank you for sharing it.

Connecticut | Florida | New Jersey | New York

Me gusta
bottom of page